Shopping!

Oh my goodness, I loved shopping this weekend. I mainly hate shopping most of the time because I rarely like the way outfits look on me and I have no fashion sense. But this weekend, my boyfriend’s mom and sisters and cousin took me shopping to buy mission clothes and oh my gosh it was so much fun!

We went to the DI there (seriously, I love thrift store shopping) and we spent three hours there trying things on and narrowing down the MANY options we had. When we got there we all spread out and everyone just picked things they thought would be good, and then we used a table and chairs there (we took over the whole store practically) and narrowed it down to “yes I want to try that on” or “no I think it’s ugly and I don’t even want to try it on at all” and then I tried everything on. I seriously think I was in the dressing room for an hour and a half consistently trying things on. It was insane. As I tried things on, I mainly was checking sizes and if I absolutely hated it or wasn’t sure I liked the style or it was too big/small, I got rid of it. Then we went back to the table and narrowed it down some more into particular things I liked, and things that matched a lot of things, versus things that only matched one particular skirt or whatever. I spent $176 and got MOST of the things I needed. Like seriously about 80%.

Then we grabbed a quick lunch at Panda Express (yum!) and then back to shopping we went! We stopped at DownEast next and seriously I would buy the entire store if I could afford it. I LOVE the clothes from there. They are adorable! But I bought a ton of cute things there and some necklaces and stuff. Then we went to Famous Footwear (and I always thought of them as sneakers… I didn’t even really realize they had fancy shoes) and I found TONS of cute shoes! I ended up with 5 pairs of them! And they match my dresses and skirts amazingly! It was awesome and I loved it. I’m normally the last person that wants to be the center of attention but it was fun for the day.

It was also really awesome to spend the day with people in Caleb’s family. I don’t always get to hang out with them and feel super comfortable being around everyone but it was a lovely day and I had a ton of fun. Plus, they helped with expenses which is a huge blessing. MISSIONS ARE EXPENSIVE. And not just the missions itself. The preparation with doctor’s visits, and dentists, and clothes, and various miscellaneous items, it racks up fast.

Overall, it was an amazing weekend. I had a blast, I felt productive, and I bonded with Caleb’s family some more.

I am so so thankful for my missionary, and his amazing family that take care of me so well. I don’t know where I would be without them and  my own family. They are both family to me, and regardless of what happens with Caleb and I, I will always think of his family as my own family. I am so thankful for a Heavenly Father who loves me and will take care of me, no matter what. I’m thankful for Jesus Christ, who atoned for my sins, and took the weight of my burdens off of my shoulders and placed them on his own. I’m thankful for Joseph Smith, who prayed with a sincere heart and founded the true church of Jesus Christ. I’m thankful for the prophets and their amazing grace, and inspirational words of wisdom. I am so thankful to be a part of this church, and to have a joy and a peace that I have never felt before. I am blessed beyond belief, and I couldn’t be more excited to go share that peace with the people of California.

I have a testimony that is growing stronger each and every day. I know this church is true. I know that my Heavenly Father loves me. I know that through Jesus Christ, all things are possible. I know that the Holy Ghost guides and directs us each and every day, through all of our decisions if we let him. And I know that the Heavenly Father will always be there to pick up the pieces if we ignore the Holy Ghost and go down the wrong path. And I say these things in the name of Jesus Christ. Amen.

 

 

(p.s. tomorrow is Monday which means it’s P day, which means, I GET AN EMAIL FROM MY MISSIONARY!!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

